Houston Open Chalk 💣

Houston Open Chalk 💣

 This Week's Tour Stop Houston Open 2019 

"DB's Big Balls Betting Card"

I bet on golf for fun. You should too. Therefore, I don't get the betting erection I crave betting guys at 18/1 or 9/1. I realize that may be the sharper way to do things, but F that. I've felt the rush of have a big triple digit winning golf bet hit...and Daddy likes! Throughout the season, I'm going to show you my pre tournament bets, including what I'm risking, odds, and some brief logic behind the pick. I'm actually betting these guys. I'm taking $50 a week at $10 per unit to show you how I allot my dollars. Follow along, bet with me if you like, or completely fade everyone on this betting card. Up to you. However...I will say...I hit 5 bets in 2019 at 100/1 or longer.As of Wednesday evening here, there appears to be a possibly significant advantage to guys in the PM/AM wave as Friday afternoon has wind gust projections up to 30mph. That will be daunting while trying to make a cut on Friday. Thursday looks fairly level for both waves with maybe a pube hair worth of wind advantage to the early early tee times. So, for betting FRL's I'm going long shot early guys. However, a guy can't win a tournament if he doesn't make the cut. Therefore, I'll be leaning PM/AM wave for Outright bets. You've only got Stenson & Keegan playing this week from inside the Top 50 OWGR. Anyone can win this thing. Literally. Anyone.

Through 4 Weeks: Spent $200 / Won $750 / Up 55 units

First Round LeaderEnglish (50/1)_$5, Jones (55/1)_$5, Burgoon (60/1)_$5, Griffin (60/1)_$5, Higgs (80/1)_$5

I especially like betting the triple digit FRL guys since you end up chopping the winnings with ties. Once again, I like the early morning guys this week as the wind will be a little less of a factor. Jones & English have great history in Texas and both are playing well right now. Burgoon, Griffin, and Higgs have also flashed some solid form so far this Fall season and all three can go ape shit from tee to green when they're hot.

Outright WinnerMunoz (40/1)_$7.5, Tringale (50/1)_$7.5, Redman (90/1)_$7, Ventura (140/1)_$3

If the weather does what it's supposed to, the PM/AM wave will have a massive advantage. I'm not putting anyone on the card to win from the AM/PM wave, and for that reason I like taking advantage of that edge with these 4 names. I realize 40 and 50/1 are really "Big Balls" material, but those 2 are hard to pass up with their form and this shitty field. Redman checks so many boxes, and he's knocked on the door of his first win already this year. Ventura is a KFT guy I was HUGE on to start the season. He's made his first 2 cuts and last week got his first T20. This kid won 3 times in 9 events on the KFT...he's a winner. I'll take the shot at 140/1 in this shit show event.

All bets courtesy of MyBookie. Click the photo below for the 100% Deposit Bonus They've taken care of our listeners for over 2 years now. Come Bet with us!

 "Pop the Cork & Let it Breathe" Didn't like em Monday, but like em now

Harris English - $8,900 – Harris has come out hot this season with top 10’s in both the Greenbrier and Sanderson Farms and also a T33 at the Safeway gaining over 24 strokes on the field over those 3 events. The history is not great in Houston, with a missed cut in his last start, but this tournament has typically been in the spring and on overseeded greens as opposed to the pure Bermuda we’ll see this week where English ranks 10th in the field in Strokes Gained Putting on Bermuda. He is also checking boxes in Strokes Gained off the Tee, Driving Accuracy, and 1st in the field in Greens in Regulation which should serve him well this week. 

Brice Garnett - $7,700 – Garnett is pretty much getting zero attention this week with a current projected ownership of around 2% but I think this course sets up well for him and he’s played well recently with a T36 at the Greenbrier and bouncing back after a missed cut with a top 25 at the Safeway Open. The history similar to Harris isn’t outstanding, but he did play his way into a T7 in 2014 so he’s shown he can finish well at the Golf Club of Houston.  Looking at the stats, Garnett checks out in Strokes Gained off the Tee, Scrambling, Driving Accuracy, and Greens in Regulation. All that adds up to what I think will be a great low owned tournament play for your DraftKings lineups. 

Roberto Castro - $6,700 – Castro has been a guy I’ve really liked this fall who’s come out the gates well in his two made cuts, but fizzled out on the weekend leaving him with 2 straight finishes in the 50’s. My gut though says he’s due to surprise and have a good week and this course should be a good fit for his game. Roberto is extremely accurate off the tee ranking 6th in the field, and is also checking the box in Strokes Gained Approach, and Scrambling which will be important with how tough it is around the greens on this course. He will be super low owned as well so I think you take a flyer on him in your tournament lineups this week.

 "Pontificate with Pat" Random thoughts from Pat

With Halloween around the corner...I’m curious what costume our CB readers would recommend for DB and myself? Reply with your response or tweet us @tour_junkiesI’m helping coach my son's baseball team and let me tell you one of my hidden talents is the complete control, efficiency, and coordination I have with processing sunflower seeds from start to finish in my mouth. It’s uncanny. Side note, not a big fan of all these new flavored seeds. I do however go with the new lower sodium ones. Gotta stay on top of the sodium levels in my older age.I received a paper weight in the mail at work this week as a “gift” from a vendor we use. Who in the hell actually uses a paper weight? I mean even if you have a bunch of papers stacked up on your desk it’s not like some gust of wind is coming thru the office blowing them all over the place. Is there some other use for these things? What am I missing?That’s all I got folks! I hope you all have Great Fantastic week for the Houston Open. Bome.

Tour Junkies IG Post of the Week 

Reply

or to participate.